Hall Of Fame

Mike de Kock and Michael "Muis" Roberts were the first two inductees to the Racing Association's Legends Of The Saddle wall.

Legends Of The Saddle, introduced by the Racing Association in 2013, is SA horseracing's equivalent of the USA's Hall Of Fame and, appropriately, the very first person inducted was Muis Roberts. Second later SA icon Mike de Kock received his cap and blazer.

Racing Association CEO Larry Wainstein said at the ceremony: "These awards are not given lightly. Consideration will be given every year for the Legend Of The Saddle accolade, however, if there is no worthy recipient, the award will not be given.

Roberts, nicknamed "Muis" and champion jockey in SA 11 times from 1973 to 1984 and UK in 1992, has become a successful trainer based in KwaZulu-Natal - one of the few jockeys to successfully make the transition to the training ranks. The best horse he rode in his career was the mighty Mtoto, winner of two Coral Eclipse Stakes, but he rates Sledgehammer right up there. Roberts and Sledgehammer won the 1973 Bull Brand International and the 1975 J&B Met. His biggest success as a trainer so far was Mike's Choice's victory in the Grade 2 Post Merchants at Greyville in 2012.

He commented that he was "honoured and humbled" to receive the Legends Of The Saddle accolade.

De Kock, who has trained the winners of 2,500 races, 150 in other countries and who has four bases of operation in three countries, said: "This is a massive honour, especially to be inducted at the same time as Muis. This is something special which I'll cherish for life."

Share Tabonline